James John Brophy (1926 - 1991)


B.S., Electrical Engineering, Illinois Institute of Technology
M.S., Physics, Illinois Institute of Technology - Emission of Electrons from Surfaces of Varying Roughness
Ph.D., Physics, Illinois Institute of Technology - Secondary Emission of Electrons from Liquid Metal Surfaces


1951 - 1953
Research Physicist, IIT Research Institute
1953 - 1956
Supervisor, Solid State Physics, IIT Research Institute
1956 - 1961
Assistant Director of Physics Research, IIT Research Institute
1961 - 1967
Director of Technical Development, IIT Research Institute
1967 - 1976
Professor of Physics and Academic Vice President, Illinois Institute of Technology
1976 - 1980
Senior Vice President, Institute of Gas Technology
1980 - 1991
Professor of Physics and Vice President for Research, University of Utah


James John Brophy was born near Chicago and studied at Illinois Institute of Technology, where he earned his B.S. (Electrical Engineering), M.S. (Physics) and Ph.D. (Physics). Upon graduation, Brophy began a research career at the IIT Research Institute where he became an expert on low frequency noise in solids and made important contributions to the understanding of 1/f noise. Brophy was the author of over 100 publications and several books, among them a classic textbook on electronics, Basic Electronics for Scientists. In addition to his research activities, Brophy had a distinguished career in research and academic administration, starting with the IIT Research Institute, Illinois Institute of Technology, the Institute of Gas Technology and finally the University of Utah. While at the University of Utah, Brophy played a major role in obtaining state funding to establish an institute for cold fusion. Brophy was a Fellow of the American Physical Society and member of Sigma Xi and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He was also a close childhood friend and classmate of Hugh Hefner.[1]

Notable Publications


[1] Mr. Playboy: Hugh Hefner and the American Dream, Steven Watts (John Wiley & Sons, New York, 2008).